Leila

I’m an astronaut and she the sun.

We’ve been waiting for this for far too long now, all the sleepless nights , the deadlines, the grades it’s all history. We’ve earned this party and no one could ruin it…except for Leila, my sun.
I watched her from a distance , the way flowers look up to the sky, waiting for rain, for warmth, for a smile. Watched her tie her brown hair back showing off more unattainable skin. No one really heard what was said at that moment, but a raspy “How dare you” from her was enough to start a commotion. Chairs, tables and punches were thrown, all in defense of Leila.
She’s the sun and they’re all jumping into the first spaceship. A silent raise from her hand was then enough to bring the fight to a halt, we’re graduating and the sun is setting. “Fights are for boys” she says trailing off into the horizon leaving behind scorched hearts. Not knowing that I am no longer a boy, I’m the astronaut that won’t leave Earth, wouldn’t stop staring at the sun, and would never dare love the moons.
I’m an astronaut and I love you Leila.
Vacuum.

One thought on “Leila

  1. It is very beautiful, description is just sensational! You have a unqiue writing style! You are so talented ma shaa Allah ❤ Keep these beautiful writings flooding please 😀 :* ❤

Leave a comment